Quarrels (mature)

I collapse into the bed after finally getting Aarav and Keerthi to sleep, my head throbbing with the pain of a long day. The soft, cushiony pillows feel beautiful to my sore back, and I sink into the sheets contentedly.

 

On the TV, the football game blares softly in the background, and my husband sits next to me, typing away on his laptop. I snuggle into his side, wanting him to stroke my hair and put me into a deep slumber.

 

He bends down to kiss me lightly, and I willingly tilt my head up to meet him. He pulls away before pressing his lips to mine again, except this time, it’s a passionate, heady kiss that leaves my toes tingling.

 

He shuts his laptop and places it on the side table as he continues to kiss me, peppering kisses all over my face between long, tender kisses. My mouth opens as he rolls over, pinning me underneath him as his lips drop to my neck.

 

His hands caress my sides, brushing over my breasts lightly as he reaches for the hem of my shirt. He presses a warm kiss to the curve of my breast, lifting the t-shirt up my stomach.

 

Are the kids really asleep?

 

My brain wanders as he attempts to tug the shirt off of me, and I push him off of me just as he pulls it over my head. Snatching it from his hands, I pull it back onto my body, sliding on my slippers as I head out of the room.

 

“I need to go check if they’re really asleep.”

 

I can hear his frustrated sigh, and it stops me in my tracks as I whirl around. He’s gritting his teeth, clearly attempting to control his temper.

 

“What?”

 

I snap, my frayed nerves already on edge. His irritable expression sets me on the defensive, and I immediately know what’s coming next.

 

“Khushi, the kids are fine. You’ve checked on them five million times. Please, come to bed.”

 

“Arnav, the kids!”

 

“I know! I’m aware we have them. I helped with that too, remember?”

 

“Then why don’t you understand?”

 

He sighs, rubbing his forehead with his fingers as he sits up fully, turning to face me.

 

“Khushi, we haven’t had sex in what, six months now? Ever since Keerthi was born, we’ve turned into one of those couples that only has sex on national holidays. Oh, it’s July 4th! Let’s make some fireworks on our own!”

 

His sarcasm does not sit well with me, and I fight to keep this from blowing up into an even bigger argument.

 

This is one we’ve had time and time again in the last six months, and I can feel the tension in our marriage beginning to settle in. We had a passionate marriage, but after the birth of Keerthi, our life has revolved around endless beginner ballet lessons and TinyTots soccer practices.

 

At ages 5 and 4, Aarav and Keerthi keep me on my feet. By the end of the day, sex is the last thing on my mind. Arnav and I usually end up collapsing into bed, falling asleep to some random flop movie from the 80s.

 

When we do have sex, it turns into a chore, with the standard vanilla positions that neither of us are completely satisfied with.

 

I take a deep breath in, and prepare to end this argument for once and for all.

 

“Fine. How about we make a deal?”

 

I see the familiar glint in his eyes, and I have to remind myself that I’m negotiating with a skilled businessman.

 

“A deal?”

 

“If you can seduce me within the week, you’re allowed to ask me for anything you want in bed for the next week.”

 

“Month.”

 

“2 weeks. I am not giving up control for any longer.”

 

“Done. Anything?”

 

“Anything.”

 

“And what happens if I lose?”

 

“You let up on this argument for a while.”

 

I see the wheels turning in his head, and he gazes at me calculatingly. After a few minutes, he sticks out his hand, and we shake on it.

 

“Done.”

 

I nod tightly, and slip into our bed. The silken sheets feel cold, and I find myself wondering if I’ve done the right thing.

 

His hot breath washes over my ear as he leans over, his end-of-the-day stubble brushing the side.

 

“Just in case you’ve forgotten, Khushi Kumari Gupta Singh Raizada, I never lose a bet.”

-***-

 

For the next week, I’m constantly on edge. My nerves are on fire, anticipating his seduction that I know will have me tingling with need.

 

But it never comes.

 

He remains frustratingly aloof, and even goes off for a business trip for three days, leaving me with the kids and yet another round of obnoxious ballet music ringing in my ears. My voice goes hoarse from cheering for Aarav as Keerthi sucks on her apple juice at my side.

 

And he isn’t there for any of it.

 

My anger knows no bounds by Saturday night. With just one day left for the bet, I’m shocked that he’s willing to give this argument up so easily.

 

Does he not want me anymore? Am I not desirable?

 

I know I’m not as slim as I used to be, with the weight of my pregnancies giving me an irritating muffin top when I attempt to wear sexy panties. I’m by no means out of shape, but I do look like I’ve mothered two kids.

 

Does he want… someone else?

 

My mind goes everywhere as I step into our darkened room for the night, a heavy weight settling on my heart. I’m only wearing his white button down shirt that falls to my knees, the one I wear whenever he’s out of town. His smell lingers on me, and relaxes me temporarily.

 

I’m about to reach for the switch when a hand grabs my wrist and thrusts me against the door, slamming it shut.

 

I open my mouth to scream when a silky cloth covers my eyes, a large hand pressing across my mouth to keep me silent.

 

“Shut up Khushi, it’s just me. You’ll wake the kids.”

 

I whimper and grope in the darkness, finding the familiar body of my husband standing in front of me. I recognize the stubble as my hands stroke across his face, tracing the contours. He groans when my fingers brush across his lips, and pulls my hand off of him.

 

I realize I’m angry at him and smack him hard across the chest.

 

“What the hell was that for?! You could have- you scared me! What if it had been someone else? Then what would I-”

 

He silences me with a punishing, deep kiss, pushing his tongue into my mouth as he presses me into the door. My head feels light, and it takes all of my strength to shove him off of me as I try to maintain my anger.

 

“I’m not done! Don’t think you can just- mmph!”

 

He wraps another cloth around my mouth, effectively cutting off anything I would have said. He picks me up and tosses me over his shoulder against my incoherent mumbling from underneath the gag, placing me in the middle of the bed.

 

“Not one more word.”

 

The commanding tone in his voice silences me, and he takes my wrists in his hands. He lifts my arms over my head, pinning them to the headboard. I feel cool silk against my wrists, and I open my mouth to scream again in horror.

 

“I said, not one more word.”

 

I wriggle my hands, trying to move them, but find that I’m tied to the bed. I can’t see or talk, and I realize that I’m entirely at his mercy.

 

“Now that we’ve taken care of that…”

 

He trails off, and I twist my head towards his voice. I can hear clothing dropping to the ground, and my heart thuds in my chest in anticipation of what’s coming next.

 

“I’m going to make you beg, Khushi Kumari Gupta Singh Raizada.”

 

My heart drops to my stomach as I finally realize what he’s planning to do with me. His husky, seductive voice makes my head spin, and I feel the heat pool in my lower stomach.

 

I know Arnav is incredibly skilled at slow, burning seduction from my own experience, and I know it will take all of my energy to resist his endeavor.

 

“Now, can I open the gag, or are you planning to scream some more?”

 

I shake my head in the negative, and he undoes the gag, but immediately covers my lips with his. His lips are insistent, and his tongue brushes my bottom lip over and over again, asking for entrance. I open my mouth and give in to the comforting sensation of him.

 

His lips are hard and demanding, taking everything and giving nothing. He suddenly pulls away, leaving me aching for more.

 

“I think… this has to go.”

 

He reaches for the buttons of the shirt, unbuttoning them painfully slowly. His finger follows the trail of buttons, slowly dragging against my sensitive skin. I hear his groan of approval when he finds that I’m wearing nothing underneath it, completely bared to his roving eyes.

 

My body is on edge, and I feel the deep loss of control as he leans away from me. The warmth of his hands are just inches away from my skin. I arch my back in anticipation, begging for his touch without words.

 

He indulges me, cupping my breasts in his hands and kneading them gently. His lips brush over the tips, making me gasp in shock and pleasure. He takes full advantage of my immobility, tauntingly suckling on my breasts as the peaks tighten under his assault.

 

He caresses my body relentlessly, pressing kisses everywhere. His mouth is warm, his tongue teasing as he licks the gentle curve of my hip. His lips coast over the heavy skin that hangs in my belly, bestowing a soft kiss on the area.

 

“You’re even more beautiful now, Khushi.”

 

The reverent tone in his voice nearly melts my resolve, and my hands long to pull him close, into a long, deep kiss.

 

But he has other ideas, and I shiver when he brings his mouth to where I’m craving him the most, blowing cool air against me.

 

I writhe against him, trying to alleviate the trembling, punishing pressure he has built up within me. He takes his time, slowly pressing his mouth to me in a gentle kiss, and I strain to keep myself from crying out from the sensations swirling around me. My hands ache to bury themselves in his hair and pull him to me, but I’m bound by the silk ties.

 

I feel him move away from me, and I bite down on my lip to keep myself from whimpering in displeasure.

 

I hear him move, and then I feel him pressed against me. He’s barely there, but my nerve endings are attuned to every miniscule move he makes, and it makes me wiggle my hips, trying to get him closer. My movements only make the tortuous ache stronger, and I almost whine with the unfairness of it all.

 

“What do you want me to do, Khushi?”

 

His voice is laden with lust, and I can hear that he’s straining to keep himself from burying into me.

 

He thrusts into me once, a long, gentle stroke that sets me on fire.

 

I shake my head, refusing to answer him.

 

“Do you want me to thrust into you right now, fast and hard, until I have you screaming my name?”

 

I hear an unknown squeak come out of my mouth as I turn my head away from his lips, which are trailing light kisses up my jawline.

 

“Or… would you prefer if I took you in long, slow strokes until you’re trembling underneath me?”

 

He strokes himself up me once more, and I shudder with the feelings. No matter how much I writhe, I can’t get rid of the taunting throb, and I know I’ll have to give in.

 

It’s only a matter of when.

 

“Tell me, Khushi, what do you want?”

 

“I want you to fuck me, Arnav.”

 

My voice comes out in a sob, and I have no shame in begging for him to take me right then and there.

 

“As you wish, Khushi.”

 

He plunges into me, and I cry out, arching my back. His hands wrap around my waist, pulling me closer to him as he continues to thrust into me.

 

Just as the sensations begin to spiral, he slows down, kissing me tenderly. My legs slide around his waist, and I press myself against him as much as I can, my slick body melding against his.

 

We both come with a crash, and he collapses against me in exhaustion. He unties the silk and reaches around me to pull the blindfold off, and I’m momentarily surprised by the soft light that bathes our room as my eyes adjust.

 

The look of adoration in his eyes remind me why I married him, and I realize that I’ve missed him desperately this last week. I haven’t enjoyed not having him by my side every night to hold me close, to throw my legs over his body and hog all the pillows blankets.

 

I gently kiss him again, running my hands through his hair as he sighs into my mouth.

 

“I love you, you know.”

 

He smiles wickedly, his eyes glinting teasingly as his hands slide along my naked skin.

 

“Is that surrender?”

 

I roll my eyes, smiling as I admit defeat. I’m more than willing to be at his mercy for two weeks- after all, I signed up for life when I married him, and two weeks are hardly anything.

 

He pulls me in closer as my eyes droop, cradling my body against his own.

 

“By the way, I love you too.”

 

Note: This oneshot was inspired by this article, which I came across on my daily romp through the New York Times

6 thoughts on “Quarrels (mature)

  1. I can relate to that one after 2 beautiful little girls. Poetry in motion as he shows her how much he still loves her and finds her even more desirable now than when she had the slim figure before the kids. He sure know how to build up to it.

What did you think? ;)